FLOW Business Plan Competition


  • A first prize of $100,000 plus other cash awards
  • Winners pitch to Vinod Khosla, Founder of Khosla Ventures
  • Connect with the best mentors in clean energy
  • Get incorporated with legal startup packages
  • Meet other cleantech investors who can help you
  • Win exclusive places in UC Davis's Green Technology Entrepreneurship Academy (GTEA) and the Cleantech Open (CTO)
  • Judges from Mohr Davidow, Khosla Ventures, Kleiner Perkins Caufield & Byers, Angel groups and clean energy companies and utilities



Competition Organizer


Local US Event
Pasadena, CA
*Available in all states*

Submission Date


Business Plan Submission Date


Awards Date


Total Prize Cash (US Dollars)


Competition Category
  • Graduate - All U.S.
  • Undergraduate - All U.S.
  • Business - All U.S.
  • Technology - Other
Who's Eligible
  • Teams where at least 50% of the members are students (undergraduate and graduate), attending accredited universities and community colleges in the U.S., with at least one team member a U.S. citizen. This also includes post-doctoral researchers who have graduated within 12 months or are currently atending courses. U.S. citizens attending universities abroad may also participate.
  • Innovations in technology should be the foundation of your application, but are not required to be patented at the time of submission. Big ideas with commercial potential are welcome as well as more formalized businesses. Service businesses are ineligible: the business should be based on selling a product developed from technology.
  • All teams should be incorporated or in the process by the Regional Final Round, where student members of the formal team should have a combined minimum equity of 20% of the incorporated entity. The team or company cannot have secured more than $200k in equity capital prior to selection of the regional winners.
  • Teams may apply from across the country but special attention is paid to students in the Western Region: Alaska, California, Idaho, Nevada, Oregon, Washington, American Samoa, and Guam.